August 21, 2008 - The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2008 Fall Watch List. The list includes two finalists from the 2007 Watch List, as well as the 2007 winner of the Rimington Trophy, Arkansas’ Jonathan Luigs. The Trophy has not had a repeat winner in its history.

In all, there are 43 players on the Watch List. The PAC-10 checks in with the most candidates, with seven players being named.  The Big-12 is represented by six players. The SEC and Big East Conference have five players each on the Watch List.

The following is a list of those named to the 2008 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List.

Alabama Antoine Caldwell 6'3" 305 Senior
Arizona Blake Kerley 6'2" 285 Junior
Arkansas Jonathan Luigs 6'4" 314 Senior
Auburn Jason Bosley 6'4" 274 Senior
Baylor J.D. Walton 6'3" 300 Junior
California Alex Mack 6'5" 320 Senior
Central Michigan Colin Miller 6'3" 287 RS Sophomore
Colorado Daniel Sanders 6'3" 310 Senior
Connecticut Keith Gray 6'2" 285 Senior
Florida International Brad Serini 6'3" 300 Sophomore
Florida State Ryan McMahon 6'3" 275 Sophomore
Hawaii John Estes 6'3" 295 Junior
Houston Carl Barnett 6'2" 285 Junior
Idaho Adam Korby 6'2" 292 Senior
Illinois Ryan McDonald 6'5" 293 Senior
Indiana Alex Perry 6'7" 300 Sophomore
Kansas Ryan Cantrell 6'3" 295 Senior
Kansas State Jordan Bedore 6'3" 310 Senior
Louisiana-Lafayette Chris Fisher 6'2" 285 Junior
Louisville Eric Wood 6'4" 309 Senior
LSU Brett Helms 6'2" 283 Senior
Maryland Edwin Williams 6'3" 315 Senior
Memphis Philip Beliles 6'5" 290 Senior
Nevada Dominic Green 6'3" 295 Senior
Ohio State Jim Cordle 6'5" 297 Junior
Oklahoma Jon Cooper 6'2" 289 Senior
Oregon Max Unger 6'5" 300 Senior
Penn State A.Q. Shipley 6'1" 300 Senior
Rutgers Ryan Blaszczyk 6'4" 295 RS Junior
SMU Mitch Enright 6'1" 266 Junior
South Florida Jake Griffin 6'4" 295 Senior
Stanford Alex Fletcher 6'3" 295 Senior
TCU Blake Schlueter 6'3" 284 Senior
Temple Alex Derenthal 6'4" 298 RS Senior
Tennessee Josh McNeil 6'4" 280 Junior
Texas Chris Hall 6'4" 300 Junior
Troy Danny Franks 6'3" 290 Junior
USC Kristopher O'Dowd 6'5" 300 Sophomore
Utah State Ryan Tonnemacher 6'3" 292 Senior
UTEP Robby Felix 6'3" 295 Senior
Washington Juan Garcia 6'3" 315 Senior
Washington State Kenny Alfred 6'2" 300 RS Junior
West Virginia Mike Dent 6'3" 300 Senior

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

* American Football Coaches Association

* Walter Camp Foundation

* Sporting News

* Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska, on January 17, 2009.

About the Rimington Trophy

The nine-year old trophy is presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Past recipients include Nebraska's Dominic Raiola, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley, Miami's Brett Romberg, Virginia Tech's Jake Grove, co-winners Michigan's David Baas and LSU's Ben Wilkerson, Minnesota's Greg Eslinger, West Virginia's Dan Mozes, and Arkansas’ Jonathan Luigs. Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $1.3 million for the award's benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, which is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation that to date has raised over $65 milllion for CF Research.

Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

The Rimington Trophy is a fully accredited member of the National College Football Awards Association.


Seth Gonzales
Rimington Trophy Media

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.5 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The fourteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association’s 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2013 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 8: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Tue., July 9: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Wed., July 10: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Fri., July 12: Jim Thorpe Award

Mon., July 15: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Tue., July 16: Biletnikoff Award

Wed., July 17: Davey O’Brien Award

Thurs., July 18: Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 19: Walter Camp Award
Copyright © Rimington Trophy, All rights reserved.
Boomer Esiason Foundation * 483 10th Avenue, Ste. 300 * New York, NY 10018 * Tel: 646-292-7930