Rimington Trophy

August 20, 2009

Rimington Trophy Releases 2009 Fall Watch List

NEW YORK CITY - The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2009 Fall Watch List. The list includes 12 returning players from the 2008 Watch List.

In all, there are 43 players on the Watch List. The SEC checks in with the most candidates, with six players being named.  The ACC, Big-12, Big Ten and WAC are represented by five players each on the Watch List.

The following is a list of those named to the 2009 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List.

Eddie Adamski Northern Illinois 6'3" 280 RS Senior
Kenny Alfred Washington State 6'2" 310 RS Senior
Garrett Anderson South Carolina 6'4" 307 Senior
Tim Barnes Missouri 6'4" 305 Junior
Carl Barnett Houston 6'2" 285 RS Senior
Colin Baxter Arizona 6'4" 295 Junior
Joe Bernardi Fresno State 6'3" 290 Junior
Ryan Blaszczyk Rutgers 6'4" 295 Senior 
Ben Bojicic Bowling Green 6'4" 273 RS Sophomore
Mike Brewster Ohio State 6'5" 296 Sophomore
J.C. Brignone Mississippi State 6'2" 300 Junior
Ben Burkett Northwestern 6'4" 280 Sophomore
Thomas Byrd Boise State 5'11" 275 Sophomore
Ronnie Castillo San Jose State 6'0" 292 Senior
Eric Cook New Mexico 6'6" 315 Senior
Lowell Dyer North Carolina 6'4" 290 Senior 
John Estes Hawaii 6'2" 290 Senior 
Chris Fisher
Danny Franks
Daverin Geralds Mississippi 6'2" 312 Senior
Jorge Gonzalez Kentucky 6'3" 305 Senior 
Chris Hall Texas 6'4" 300 Senior 
Jacob Hickman Nebraska 6'4" 295 Senior
Trask Iosefa San Diego State 6'0" 315 Junior
Ted Larsen North Carolina State 6'2" 295 Senior 
Kevin Matthews Texas A&M 6'4" 297 Senior
Jim McKenzie Syracuse 6'4" 286 Junior
Ryan McMahon Florida State 6'3" 282 RS Junior
Colin Miller Central Michigan 6'3" 291 Junior 
John Moffitt Wisconsin 6'2" 313 Junior
David Molk Michigan 6'2" 383 RS Sophomore
Bryan Morgan Duke 6'3" 250 Junior
Joel Nitchman Michigan State 6'3" 296 Senior
Kristofer O' Dowd USC 6'5" 300 Junior
Maurkice Pouncey Florida 6'5" 318 Junior
Lon Roberts Louisiana Tech 6'3" 277 RS Junior
Jake Seitz Alabama-Birmingham 6'2" 290 Senior 
Brad Serini Florida International 6'3" 300 Junior
Matthew Tennant Boston College 6'4" 284 Junior 
Mark Thompson Middle Tennessee 6'5" 302 RS Senior
Bradley Vierling Vanderbilt 6'2" 294 RS Senior
Tim Walter Colorado State 6'6" 290 Senior
J.D. Walton Baylor 6'3" 305 Senior

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

* American Football Coaches Association

* Walter Camp Foundation

* Sporting News

* Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 16, 2010.

Seth Gonzales
Rimington Trophy Media Relations
O: 646-292-7946
C: 917-553-6113
About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.5 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The fourteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrophy.com

About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association’s 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2013 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 8: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Tue., July 9: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Wed., July 10: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Fri., July 12: Jim Thorpe Award

Mon., July 15: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Tue., July 16: Biletnikoff Award

Wed., July 17: Davey O’Brien Award

Thurs., July 18: Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 19: Walter Camp Award
Copyright © Rimington Trophy, All rights reserved.
Boomer Esiason Foundation * 483 10th Avenue, Ste. 300 * New York, NY 10018 * Tel: 646-292-7930