May 24, 2012

Seth Gonzales
Rimington Trophy Media Relations


NEW YORK CITY - The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2012 Spring Watch List.

The list includes 21 returning players from the 2011 Watch List. In all, there are 50 players on the Watch List. The SEC leads the way with nine players while the ACC, Big Ten, Mountain West, and PAC-12 check in with five players each. There are two graduate students and seven sophomores on the Watch List.

The following is a list of those named to the 2012 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List.

Eloy Atkinson
Mario Benavides
Louisville 6'4" 301 RS Senior
Nick Carlson
Wyoming 6'4" 292
Braxston Cave
Notre Dame
6'3" 304 Graduate
Reese Dismukes
Auburn 6'3" 302
Trent Dupy
Tulsa 6'2" 285
Dillon Farrell
New Mexico
6'5" 290
James Ferentz
Iowa 6'2" 284 Senior 
Jay Finch
Georgia Tech
6'3" 283
RS Junior
B.J. Finney
Kansas State
6'4" 303
Travis Frederick
Wisconsin 6'4" 328
Dalton Freeman
Clemson 6'5" 285 Graduate
James Fry
TCU 6'3" 290 Senior
Kevin Galeher
Western Michigan
6'3" 300 Senior
Hronis Grasu
Oregon 6'3" 284 Sophomore
Ben Habern
Oklahoma 6'4" 292 Senior
Gus Handler
Colorado 6'3" 295 Junior 
Jonotthan Harrison
Florida 6'3" 300
RS Junior
Khaled Holmes
USC 6'4" 305 Senior 
Andre Huval
Louisiana-Lafayette 6'1" 305
Alec Johnson
San Diego State 6'3" 300
T.J. Johnson
South Carolina
6'6" 319 Senior
Barrett Jones
Alabama 6'5" 302 Senior 
Zac Kerin
Toledo 6'5" 294
Tyler Larsen
Utah State
6'4" 308 Junior
Patrick Lewis
Texas A&M
6'2" 306
P.J. Lonergan
LSU 6'4" 305 Senior
Mackey MacPerson
Syracuse 6'2" 269
Joe Madsen
West Virginia
6'4" 310 RS Senior
Mike Marboe
6'3" 301
Will Matte
6'2" 290
RS Senior
Blake McJunkin
SMU 6'2" 295
Andrew Miller
Virginia Tech
6'4" 300 RS Junior
Graham Pocic
Illinois 6'7" 305
Ryan Powis
6'0" 257 Sophomore
Austin Quattrochi
Southern Mississippi
6'3" 292 RS Junior
Jordan Rae
UCF 6'2" 275
Weston Richburg
Colorado State
6'4" 297 Junior
Sam Schwartzstein
Stanford 6'3" 290 Senior
Matt Smith
Kentucky 6'4" 291
Matt Stankiewitch
Penn State
6'3" 295 Senior
Tevita Stevens
6'3" 302 Senior
Travis Swanson
Arkansas 6'5" 305 Junior
Evan Swindall
Ole Miss 6'2" 300 Junior
Ryan Turnley
Pittsburgh 6'6" 320 Senior
Brandon Vitabile Northwestern 6'3" 300 Sophomore
Stephen Warner Louisiana Tech 6'0" 295 RS Senior
Robert Waterman
6'2" 290 Sophomore
Camden Wentz NC State 6'3" 225 Senior

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

* American Football Coaches Association

* Walter Camp Foundation

* Sporting News

* Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 12, 2013.

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.5 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The fourteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association’s 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2013 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 8: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Tue., July 9: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Wed., July 10: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Fri., July 12: Jim Thorpe Award

Mon., July 15: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Tue., July 16: Biletnikoff Award

Wed., July 17: Davey O’Brien Award

Thurs., July 18: Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 19: Walter Camp Award
Copyright © Rimington Trophy, All rights reserved.
Boomer Esiason Foundation * 483 10th Avenue, Ste. 300 * New York, NY 10018 * Tel: 646-292-7930